Independence Day 2024: Apart from India, These 4 Countries Celebrate Independence Day on August 15

independence day 2023, 15th August,

August 15, 2024: India is preparing to commemorate its 75th anniversary of independence on August 15 with a national holiday that serves to remind everyone of the sacrifices made by our liberation fighters. India’s lengthy war for independence cost many lives, but it eventually achieved independence from the 200-year Imperial British domination. The British occupiers finally left India on August 15, 1947, but not before dividing the country into Pakistan and India, two sovereign states. However, there are five more countries that also commemorate their independence on August 15 in addition to India.



Since 1940, Liechtenstein has observed this day as National Day. The day also features a customary fireworks display at 10 p.m. CEST. Because it was previously a bank holiday and because Prince Franz Jose II, who ruled in 1940, was born on August 16, August 15 was officially designated as a National Holiday by law in 1990. Even after his passing in 1989, the custom persisted.

Thousands of Liechtensteiners attend the massive celebrations, which are followed by the State Act, which is held on the front lawn of Vaduz Castle and includes speeches from the Prince and the Speaker of the Parliament. Since this is the only day the castle’s gardens are accessible to the public, citizens are invited to a reception there.



Bahrain, one of the first Gulf republics to discover oil and construct a refinery in 1931, attained independence from British sovereignty on August 15, 1971. Despite the fact that the Ottoman government and Britain signed a treaty in 1913 acknowledging the country’s independence, it remained under British rule. Bahrain proclaimed its independence and a treaty of friendship with the British in 1971. Although August 15 is celebrated as Independence Day, August 14 is thought to be the true date of independence.



The Republic of the Congo gained full independence from France in 1960, exactly 80 years after it fell under French domination, and is currently celebrated as the “Congolese National Day.” From 1969 to 1992, it was a Marxist-Leninist state, and since 1992, multi-party elections have been held.


The holiday, known as Gwangbokjeol, which literally translates to “Time of the Restoration of Light,” commemorates Korea’s liberation from 35 years of Japanese colonialism beginning in 1945. It is also referred to as National Liberation Day of Korea and is the only public holiday shared by the two nations. On this day in the Second World War, Imperial Japan submitted, and three years later, Korea was split into the US- and Soviet-backed North.