IPL History: Most expensive player in each IPL season


It is fair to say that the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction is as fascinating as the competition itself. The auction has provided the game of cricket some of the most exciting and beautiful stories over the years. The last 13 IPL auctions have seen everything from unknown faces becoming millionaires to famous names going unsold.

Most Expensive Player in IPL History (season wise):

MS Dhoni was the most expensive player in the very first auction, and it didn’t raise any questions. Dhoni was the most sought-after player in the auction after India’s victory in the 2007 T20 World Cup and his ability as a batsman and captain. Chennai Super Kings had paid Rs 9.5 crores for his services. He has been with the Chennai franchise since then, leading them to three IPL titles.

Two England players, Kevin Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff, became the most expensive players the following year, before Shane Bond and Kieron Pollard took the title ahead of the 2010 IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders made Gautam Gambhir the most expensive player in the 2011 tournament by splurging Rs 14.9 crores on him.

Yuvraj Singh (twice), Ben Stokes (twice), Ravindra Jadeja, and Jaydev Unadkat became the most expensive players in the following seasons. Pat Cummins became the most expensive player in IPL history last season.

The 2021 IPL auction, on the other hand, proved to be the most exciting, with Chris Morris earning Rs 16.25 crore from the Rajasthan Royals. He was also the most priced player ever in the auction.

Here is the list of IPL’s most expensive players (season-wise)

1. MS Dhoni (CSK): 2008


Ms dhoni was the hottest property in the inaugural auction and csk had to splash Rs. 9 crore to seal the deal.

2. Kevin Pietersen (RCB), Andrew Flintoff (CSK): 2009

Pietersen and Flintoff were the most expensive buys in the 2009 auction. RCB bought Pietersen for Rs 9.9 crore while CSK signed Flintoff for the same amount.

3. Shane Bond (KKR), Kieron Pollard (MI): 2010

Pollard and Bond attracted huge bids and were eventually signed by Mumbai Indians and KKR respectively for Rs 4.8 crore through silent bidding.

4. Gautam Gambhir (KKR): 2011

KKR splashed a whopping Rs 14.9 crore to sigh the left-handed opener from Delhi. He justifed his price tag and guided them to two IPL titles.

5. Ravindra Jadeja (CSK): 2012

After an intense bidding war, the Indian all- rounder was finally picked by CSK for Rs 12.8 cr.

6. Glenn Maxwell (MI): 2013

The Australian all-rounder was signed by Mumbai Indians for a rice of Rs 6.3 cr.

7. Yuvraj Singh (RCB): 2014

RCB had to part with Rs 14 cr to make Yuvraj Singh a part of their contingent.


8. Yuvraj Singh (DD): 2015

Yuvraj was bought by Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) by spending Rs 16 cr.

9. Shane Watson (RCB): 2016


The former Australian all-rounder joined RCB with a hefty price tag of Rs 9.5 cr.

10. Ben Stokes (RPS): 2017

Rising Pune Supergiant let loose their purse by Rs 14.5 cr to sign the England all-rounder.

11. Ben Stokes (RR)

Making a comeback after a two-year suspension, RR splashed Rs 12.5 cr on Ben Stokes.

12. Jaydev Unadkat (RR), Varun Chakravarthy (KXIP)

Unadkat was signed by RR while KXIP (now PBKS) roped in uncapped Chakaravarthy for Rs 8.5 cr.

13. Pat Cummins (Rs 15.5 cr): 2020

The Australian speedster Cummins was handed a hefty Rs 15.5 cr contract by KKR ahead of IPL 13.

14. Chris Morris: 2021

Morris became the most expensive player in IPL history after RR spent a staggering Rs 16.25 cr on him.